News:

FORUM HAS BEEN UPGRADED  - if you have trouble logging in, please tap/click "home"  and try again. Hopefully this upgrade addresses recent server issues.  Thank you for your patience. Forum Manager

MESSAGE ABOUT WEBSITE REGISTRATIONS
http://mahoningvalley.info/forum/index.php?topic=8677

Main Menu

Could the Sub-Prime Loan Problem Help Youngstown?

Started by jay, September 03, 2007, 05:51:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Leah

Quote from: jay on September 09, 2007, 07:51:38 PM
Many homes purchased in Youngstown in recent years may also fall victim to the sub-prime lending mess.  Some homes have been sold far above market value.  I'm beginning to see that this mortgate problem will hurt the city even more than expected.  The net result will be many more vacant houses.

You're exactly right.  I used to be a mortgage loan officer, specializing in sub-prime, mainly refinances.  I got into that field after a lot of the damage was already done, and just couldn't help a lot of people because they had already gotten loans from less than ethical lenders and were stuck in pretty bad situations.  Youngstown is hit especially hard by this because many loan programs that could actually help homeowners have minimum loan amounts of 50k.  There are a ton of houses in Youngstown that can be bought for less than that, but no one can get the loans to buy them, or with the tightening of lender guidelines, the people who currently own then and have adjustable rate mortgages can't refinance into more sensible loans because the rules have changed.

I could go on forever about the mortgage crisis and what a mess it is, but won't.