News:

FORUM HAS BEEN UPGRADED  - if you have trouble logging in, please tap/click "home"  and try again. Hopefully this upgrade addresses recent server issues.  Thank you for your patience. Forum Manager

MESSAGE ABOUT WEBSITE REGISTRATIONS
http://mahoningvalley.info/forum/index.php?topic=8677

Main Menu

Trains becoming better choice for Ohio cities

Started by irishbobcat, February 02, 2009, 09:13:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ytowner

I am against wasting our money on this project right now. We got far more pressing issues in our state.

Leah

I've said it before and I'll say it again.  I really hope Youngstown is included as a stop on these proposed passenger trains.

I am a YSU student.  I want to pursue academic work beyond a bachelor's degree.  Unfortunately, I will probably have to do this in Cleveland, Akron or Pittsburgh.

Would save a heck of a lot of gas, if I could hop a train for that commute, rather than driving.

Would also give me time to study on a train that I wouldn't have while driving.  This equals more time with my family and less stress on my household.

I think many people in these circumstances would benefit, as would those who cannot find work in Youngstown and have to commute.

Rick Rowlands

Maybe before they do spend all that money on passenger rail that benefits SOME, why not spend it on fixing Ohio's roads that benefit ALL?  Or perhaps buy and stockpile enough salt so we don't have to endure what we are currently enduring? Maybe give some cash to the city of Youngstown so they can buy a couple more plow trucks-maybe GIVE them some old ODOT trucks? 

The rail idea and the seatbelt law are two sore thumbs that stick out at you.  One is completely out of place given the tough times we are in, and the other is out of place because it doesn't belong in a BUDGET.

irishbobcat

Looks like Gov. ted is taking a page from my playbook......

http://blog.cleveland.com/openers/2009/02/strickland_releases_budget_det.html

Dennis Spisak