News:

FORUM HAS BEEN UPGRADED  - if you have trouble logging in, please tap/click "home"  and try again. Hopefully this upgrade addresses recent server issues.  Thank you for your patience. Forum Manager

MESSAGE ABOUT WEBSITE REGISTRATIONS
http://mahoningvalley.info/forum/index.php?topic=8677

Main Menu

"The Eastside's Wilderness Trail"

Started by Youngstownshrimp, April 09, 2014, 08:06:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Youngstownshrimp

Rick, I'm studying the acreage again. Actually this land can even get bigger for the the community.

Towntalk

For those who may have missed it, here's a good on topic article about hiking in Lincoln Park.
http://www.vindy.com/news/2013/sep/09/hike-to-lead-from-lincoln-park-to-mckelv/

Rick Rowlands

I think its time for a bit of a hike out that way to survey this trail ROW

Youngstownshrimp

I just had a brainwind  :) north of Lincoln park is a stone bridge over dry run, that fell apart.  I would love to rebuild it.  RICK!  let's look at it for a fundraiser for this trail?

Towntalk

Besides Council Rock, there are at least two other historic landmarks in Lincoln Park ... an old mill trace that dates back to the earliest pioneer days; and a trapper's cabin that dates back to the mid 1700's before Young and his party came here

Youngstownshrimp

TT, Truth be told, it was D'Avignon's vision years ago about amassing large tracks of acreage for green space on the eastside, at the Lincoln park, McKelvey lake corridor.  I remember, when we started investing in land there, D'Avignon pulled off having the owner of Marion's auto donate 26 acres above Lincoln park to the City for back taxes.  Then D'Avignon was able to secure State money and buy over 100 acres next to the Ohio Edison acreage.